Chocolate Chunk Cookies

edsam_4856
Feel free to experiment and add nuts to this concoction.

I don’t know about you, but I love me some chunky cookies. Granted, I don’t eat them nearly as much as I used to since going vegan, but they sure come in handy whenever someone’s talking my ear off about how vegan food tastes like dirt and how you can’t replace eggs and dairy.

Here’s my advice: Don’t knock it till you try it. And: Do try it. Also: Please.

As ridiculous as this saying is (because vegan food is delicious): You would not believe it’s vegan. And that’s coming from a plant-based eater, so you can totally trust me.

edsam_4854
A cooling rack comes in very handy if you’re as impatient as I am.

Makes: 20 cookies

  • Ingredients:
    – 140 g coconut oil
    – 110 g coconut sugar
    – 1 flax egg
    – 1 tsp vanilla
    – 250 g flour
    – 1 tsp baking powder
    – 1/2 tsp baking soda
    – 100 g vegan chocolate
    – pinch of salt
edSAM_4853.jpg
The chunkier, the better.

Preparation:

  1. Prepare your flax egg: Take 1 tbsp or milled flax seed, mix with 3 tbsp or water and set aside to do its thing. It’ll get all gooey, like an egg. If you don’t have milled flax seed, just throw some regular flax seed into a blender or, even better, a coffee grinder.
  2. Make your chocolate chunks. If you’re using chocolate chips, you can skip this, but I used a bar of dark chocolate and cut it up, so I had big chunks, because I like big chunks! We’ve gone over this, need I repeat myself?
  3. Preheat your oven to 160 degrees Celsius. That’s 320 Fahrenheit.
  4. Cream together coconut oil and coconut sugar, add activated flax egg and vanilla.
  5. Mix your dry ingredients together, so the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda. I went with 1/2 rice flour and 1/2 spelt flour, but oat flour or regular all-purpose flour would work as well, probably. If whisking by hand, you can add your chocolate chunks to these dry ingredients.
  6. Mix wet and dry ingredients, form dough balls in whichever size you prefer and place on your baking tray.
  7. Bake for 13-18 minutes. Baking time will vary on your oven, the type of flour you use, the season, the sea current an Obama’s mood. Also, what you are wearing can affect the baking time: black clothes tend to scare ovens quite a bit and I will stop talking now.
  8. Let them cool before eating, if you (unlike me) have any common sense at all and eat until you burst

*A blender or a food processor makes your life easier, as you can gradually throw all these ingredients inside, except for the chocolate chunks, which you just fold into the dough in the end and you’re all set.

These are great with tea. Or coffee. But mainly tea. And I’m not even British, so you know these are good. with tea.

Enjoy and go eat a plant!

Leave a Reply

